Natural hair: The real kinky stuff

We are in day 8 of the Super Mom challenge. The mission is to share and use the very best motherhood tips of the day over a 30 day time period. The goal is to share the challenge of what else..... TOTAL CHILDREN WELLNESS. Today, let's talk about hair!

Does your child like her hair? Can she wash and condition it herself?  Seriously?  Is it as healthy as you would like it to be?

I was surfing online to pull in little educated bits of information, and boy did I get a brain full of tips and tricks. With all the information out there it leads me to think that too many bad hair days are an unnecessary evil.

 

Sesame Street- I Love My Hair!

 

I love the natural look.  As a mother, my girls look up to me as a  model of what a women should look like from head to toe. Sometimes I do scare them with my fashion and hair mix, but for the most part, I think that the fashion, skin and hair police will remain at bay.If you’re like me,you  know when you’re excited about something, you want to share it with the world. Well here it is; a few of the links that I’ve found to be very helpful for my daughters & I.

http://www.naturallycurly.com/

http://www.k-i-s-s.biz/

http://madamenoire.com/48589/10-things-they-dont-tell-you-about-going-natural/#

http://www.goodenoughmother.com/

The first thing you’ll learn about is your hair type. My oldest daughter & I have very tiiiight

 curls.

So the convenience, of locating a handy charts detailing my hair type, as well as some recommendations was a plus. Here’s what I discovered.

Facts

Type 3c hair has tight curls in corkscrews

Circumference: Pencil or straw

The curls can be either kinky, or very tightly curled, with lots and lots of strands densely packed together

Getting this type of hair to blow dry straight is more challenging than for 3a or 3b, but it usually can be done

The very tight curls are usually fine in texture

3c celebrities: Heather Headley, Alicia Keyes, Jada Pinkett-Smith

Tips

Use styling creams, butters and oils for type 3c hair

This hair type needs extra moisture and tender-loving care because it can be fragile

Detangle hair with a lot of conditioner in your hair and use a comb or detangling brush.

Do not use a brush or comb on your dry curls

Reduce tangles by sleeping on a satin pillowcase or wrap hair in a satin.

This was just a starter, I will go back surfing for cute styles to put their hair in.

This is a must see of a good perm gone bad in a young girls head.

What are your thoughts about this haircare challenge?

Leave a Reply

