Friday Four: Why DO I cook instead of drive thur’ing?

I know the world is “coming” to an end in the morning , 05.21.11, per The Kampieys & Carsons, but this is something I had to share.

My house is smelling really good right about now. I have turkey neckbones  simmering in onions, garlic and other robust herbs/ seasonings waiting on my cabbage. I got brown rice going and a nice spicy meat loaf sitting in the oven. All thanks to my 10 & 11 year old daughters! Yeah me! 🙂

I know that I said “Why do I cook instead of drive thur’ing?”

Hold on, it’s coming….. I did help! INot only have I  taught  them how to select produce. I also taught them how to cook. For example:

Take avocados are the direct opposite of a tomato. If you can smell it than it is over ripe. You have to gently squeeze an avocado to check its ripeness. Use the tip of your thumb to press gently but firmly on the skin. If the dent you create slowly rises, than it is ripe. Do this a few times around the body of the avocado to check for bad spots. If you encounter areas that feel like a hard bubble that pops right back out, it has been bruised and will have brown flesh inside.

My point is this. When “we” cook from home, we know what all is in our food. It cheaper per serving , and it’s solid, nutritional food. Teaching these kids to cook offers many lessons in its self. Let’s see, there’s
1. Math & Science
2. Logic  &  Reading
3. Psychology 
4.  Geography 
 Think about it!
You don’t get all of that in a happy meal. I know…….I notice everytime I use to go to the fast food joints. (ok, so I still go every now and again) So sue me- Try this one this weekend with your lil one(s)”
CAJUN CHICKEN KABOBS
 
3 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1 inch cubes
3 large bell peppers, color of your choice, cut in pieces
2 large onions, cut in pieces
16 skewers (10 inches long)
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup oil
 
Thread chicken, bell pepper, and onion alternately on skewers and place in a shallow dish. Cook 8 to 10 minutes or until chicken is cooked thoroughly; turning occasionally.
 
SEASAME HONEY MUSTARD SAUCE

1/2 cup honey

1/2 cup mustard (any kind)

1/2 cup fat-free mayonnaise

2 tablespoons sesame seeds, toasted

Combine all ingredients in a bowl; mix well.

 
ee yall after the rapture, God willing!
Leave a Reply

