Wednesday Wow: From homeschool to public school they go!

Image

What does it take to be a great home-schooler? Passion, energy, creativity, high ideals and whole-hearted devotion to your kids.

What does it take to spoil home-schooling? Passion, energy, creativity, high ideals and whole-hearted devotion to your kids.

Well, I lost the home-school  battle to burnout  —and I’m OK with it!

Oh yeah, it’ s party time! Today while my husband was recovering from a slight case of food poisoning, I was registering our daughters for public school. 

Yes, D & Cassie are out of the home school sect. for now!

It’s a good things because homeschooling wasn’t gong as I planned since we began the moving process. I have been feeling like I was failing them-and that’s the main reason I pulled them out. Well, Deanna anyway. Cassie was pulled because of the move. So I guess they will be joining the ranks of other back to (public) school  chaps. As it seems, more than 1.5 million children, about 3 percent of the school-age population in the United States,are home-schooled, and every year a number of kids go from home-school to traditional school, and vice versa.

I know they are gonna miss being with the boys & I but there’s always after school and the weekends! No turning back!!! they’ll be fine, it’s not like they didn’t start the year in public school. The transition will be a piece of cake even if it’s a brand new school.

{Homeschool is awesome and it was a interesting experience for them while it lasted. As home schooled kids, they are out and about in their community every day, going to museums, parks, stores, galleries and shows. They interact with local merchants, relatives, store clerks, librarians, and artists on a daily basis. They develop relationships with kids and senior citizens, and all ages in between. There are no artificial barriers drawn where “learning” occurs. Learning is simply a part of living.} and besides that on standardized tests, homeschooled children test one year ahead of their schooled peers, on average. By eighth grade, homeschooled children test an average of four years ahead of their schooled peers.- So if you are contemplating home schooling don’t let this discourage you. When I homeschooled them years ago, they skipped an entire grade level- both of them!}  Image

If there were no schools to take the children away from home part of the time, the insane asylums would be filled with mothers.  ~Edgar W. Howe

I, on the other hand, burnt out. I remember finishing up a math lesson one day. Usually, the little  boys do everything they can to derail the girls’ lessons, but this time, there was peace and quiet, not a peep of protest. I marveled, until I found out why. The toddler had clambered up onto the kitchen counter, where, after stripping off all his clothes and decorating his face, belly, arms and legs with wild tribal magic marker, he proceeded to have a private little boxer shorts party: Cornstarch, popcorn, cinnamon, tea bags, toothpicks and fruit snacks, peanuts and chicken bouillon all came pouring down. And he grabbed the other two boys and did a little dance in the wreckage.

Well, we’d had worse days than that, but somehow this particular stunt summed everything up for me. Once I stopped laughing, I realized I just couldn’t do it any more: I couldn’t handle everything I needed to handle. The constant tension between soaring ambition and crushing guilt finally wore me down, and I took a good, hard look at where our family was.

I still love home-schooling. I just don’t love it right now.

The mediocre teacher tells.  The good teacher explains.  The superior teacher demonstrates.  The great teacher inspires.  ~William Arthur WardImage

Image

In the end, it’s not about being a great home-schooler or a terrible one — it’s about being a good mom.

Leave a Reply

