Before you throw up the white flag!

Kids will try you! I declare they will!

Sometimes it’s all about perspective though.

Just because your children do not think as you do doesn’t mean they are wrong. Children must learn to express themselves, to understand who they are and grow into who they are through their own thoughts.

However, when strong will and progression hits the crossroads, you have to make a few decisions. Your choices are simple- 1. Throw in the white flag or 2. Address and correct it.

Our 3yr old is going through a change right now. He has a new saying “I’m mad at you!” He’ll even go as far as telling us to put his older sisters in the corner when they work his last nerve. Now, he is swinging stuff around. Dude must be out of his mind! My husband will send him to me for discipline. Ye friends, I’m the bad cop! (and I like it!)

One time we were in the market and he felt the need to really turn it up a notch. He wanted some silly, over priced toy. Once I told him no, the boy went off- crying up a storm. Of course people were staring, but I could careless. My opinion is this: That’s My child & I got this!  Keep shopping and mind your business. I rather deal with it my way. It will get handled, but me alone will decide how, when & where.

    Most times,  our solutions work that & way we both win. Take a look at my tips:

  • Choose your battles. Teach children how to make a request without a temper tantrum and then honor the request. Say, “Try asking for that toy nicely and I’ll get it for you.”
  • Keep a sense of humor to divert the child’s attention and surprise the child out of the tantrum.
  • Give children control over little things whenever possible by giving choices. A little bit of power given to the child can stave off the big power struggles later. “Which do you want to do first, brush your teeth or put on your pajamas?”
  • Reward children for positive attention rather than negative attention. During situations when they are prone to temper tantrums, catch them when they are being good and say such things as, “Nice job sharing with your friend.”
  • Distract children by redirection to another activity when they tantrum over something they should not do or cannot have. Say, “Let’s read a book together.”
  • Never, under any circumstances, give in to a tantrum. That response will only increase the number and frequency of the tantrums.
  • Provide pre-academic, behavioral, and social challenges that are at the child’s developmental level so that the child does not become frustrated.

2 thoughts on “Before you throw up the white flag!

Leave a Reply

