Wednesday Wow: Bridge Building w/a Child

Hello friends, please let introduce you to my 13 year old JC. She’s a Senegalese doll baby. Right now she lives in SC with family but she’ll will be joining us for school come fall ’12…..and we have alot to do before then. I mean ALOT.  We don’t eat the same. Our household discipline styles are different. The way we spend our income is different. Talk about adjustment time?

It’s truly amazing how wisdom can only come with/ in time.  At 0ne  point in my life, I decided that 3 kids was too many for me and I had to get  rid off the extra one.

…..and I did a few days after she was born. At that time, I had JUST  graduated from college and it was all about working and building a foundation. Ignorance was BLISS!

Although I’m very thankful to have family that care that much about me to take er in as their own, I can honesty say that it was one of the worst mistakes I’ve ever made in my life.  We have such a long road ahead of us. I really don’t know where to begin. But I think over the next 3 years, we’ll be fine. I don’t expect her to call me mom as my other 2 daughters do but,  we’ll be better than we have since she was born. It’s never too late !

Now if you are contemplating granting temporary guardianship for your minor, be sure to do it the right legal  way to avoid head and heart aches later.

  • Are they willing to serve as guardian of your children?
  • Do they have the maturity and stability to parent your children?
  • Do they have the time and energy to take on the task of raising your children?
  • Is their age or health a consideration?
  • Will they love your children and provide the support, comfort and nurture that your children will need?
  • Will they make it possible for your children to visit their grandparents or other relatives or close family friends?
  • How far away do they live?
  • Do they have room for your children, or will they need extra funds to allow them to add on or buy a larger house?
  • Are their values and financial lifestyle comparable to yours?
  • If your children are home-schooled, how will this be handled?
  • Will one parent have to quit work in order to take care of your children?
  • Do they share your religious beliefs and practices.

In closing,  remember, you can do a temporary guardianship. It’s not the same as giving up your parental rights.

6 thoughts on “Wednesday Wow: Bridge Building w/a Child

    • Thanks! I figured it was worth sharing. Ya NEVER know who is going through the same situation. …….. My parents & aunts think so much of me. They see a strength that I have yet to call upon! I’m ready for it to kick in- I can’t wait to get started.

    • Thanks! I figured it was worth sharing. Ya NEVER know who is going through the same situation. …….. My parents & aunts think so much of me. They see a strength that I have yet to call upon! I’m ready for it to kick in- I can’t wait to get started.

  1. Although it may be a challenging road ahead, both you and JC will bring so many positive attributes to the table. I wish you and your family well. And how wonderful for you to have her with you.

    • OAN, you’d be surprised how it feels like a catch 22. To me it seems as though “a particular member of the family” don’t want me to have her. BUT at the same time (although she’s never said it) wonders why I have the others & not JC? I’ve been trying to get her back for years now. JC “completes” a need in the household that she’s in- BUT I gotta put my feet down. We deserve to build a solid relationship before it’s too late.

    • OAN, you’d be surprised how it feels like a catch 22. To me it seems as though “a particular member of the family” don’t want me to have her. BUT at the same time (although she’s never said it) wonders why I have the others & not JC? I’ve been trying to get her back for years now. JC “completes” a need in the household that she’s in- BUT I gotta put my feet down. We deserve to build a solid relationship before it’s too late.

Leave a Reply

