Wednesday Wow:Prayer, Faith and Action!

(Make sure you’ve read the previous post before reading this one)

Faith and Good Works are Intricately Related

It’s all a matter of cause and effect. I think James 2:14-17 tells us that true faith will manifest itself in good deeds, so our works are the effect of our faith.  It’s not that we have to give evidence, it’s that the evidence will present itself.  It’s true that we’re saved by grace through faith, not by works (Ephes. 2:8-9).  But someone once said, “If what you believe doesn’t result in action it’s doubtful you really believe it.”  I see James 2:14-17 as a means of self evaluation.  Do we see evidence of our faith in the things we do? If not, why not?

While I’m not a bible thumper at all, there are some things I do recall from growing up in a southern church.

Some times I get speechless. Yes, just lost for words. Chatting with someone recently who was going through a rough time, she said “I’ve been praying and praying and nothing is happening. I don’t know what I’m going to do.”

Really?

Prayer is a sincere request to God or an object of worship. Every tradition talks about the importance of prayer. When I was young,  my mom and pastor taught me to  view prayer as my time to confess, ask and wait. I now realize that there is more to prayer than just that. What I have come to learn about prayer over the last 6 years is that its extremely important what you do after you have prayed.

Sometimes we are so busy worrying about our problems that even after praying about it, we continue to worry. I believe this is what we must change in order to have our prayers answered. We really don’t know how the answers will come, and we need not concern ourselves with how. What we should do is have faith, be open, willing and ready to receive. If our minds are filled with anger, fear, distrust, worry and uncertainty, how can we hear the answers to our prayers.

You must have faith! Faith is confidence or trust in a person or things. (preferably yourself)   Having faith is absolutely necessary in order to have your prayers answered!  In order to achieve the level of success you desire, having faith is definitely required.  There is no other way!  For example, if you are worried that your marriage, health or even business will fail, I suggest you pray, have faith, and take action.

Remember, what you focus on expands. Focus on your marriage*( OK, let’s face it though, some unions are never meant to be but that’s for another post), health, business succeeding!  If your faith is strong, you will have confidence that your prayers will be answered and you will naturally just keep taking action towards your success.

“I will show you my faith by my works.” 

These are strategic in nature, yet motivational quotes that I came across online.  These can be used for anything from war to business.

Abraham Lincoln
Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle.

Mark Burnett
There’s nothing like biting off more than you can chew, and then chewing anyway.

Thomas Jefferson
I’m a great believer in luck, and I find the harder I work the more I have of it.

Thomas Edison
Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work.

There is  Nothing  like imposSible….even the word  “iMpossIbLe” says ” I’m possible”!

Leave a Reply

