Friday four: Going GMO Friendly

October 2012 marks the third annual Non-GMO Month, and the celebration could not be more timely.

The Fresh Expo was a great start! It got my mind  running. I got empowerment. I would really feel like a failure if I didn’t take advantage of the information I learned. The recipes seem over whelming, as well as the idea of the upfront expense but bottom line I gotta start somewhere so that my kids will thank me later.

Continuing from Wednesday, my last post, here’s what we’ve been up to in the QC.

We watched  Food Inc. last night at the Mecklenburg County Cooperative Extension   with a few friends and my children. We do good, in the light of  shopping but I think we can do better. We have habits that are not aligned with the overall goals of our family. Being a mom of daughters, it’s even more of a goal to teach them how to eat well at  a young age. (Yes, it’s equally important for my son’s to learn as well.)

Here are four things to know when you are playing GMO roulette!

1.Educate yourself. Did you know that researchers in France just published peer-reviewed research showing that Roundup herbicide and GMO Roundup Ready crops can cause tumours, multiple organ damage and lead to premature death? For the most comprehensive, up-to-date resource on the web for news like this about the GMO issue, check out the Non-GMO Project’s Facebook page. If you’re not on Facebook, you can watch the home page of the Project’s website for the same news feed.

This is a conversation I had with a college friend:

  • Renee/her: Read a book over the summer called Seeds of Deception. Scared the you know what out of me. Great read but only if you want to know the truth and unfortunately people find it easier to ignore.
  • me: You’re right Renee. We watched Food Inc. again…..I’m certain that we will be going GMO free 100% real soon. I feel that to not make a change after learning is child abuse.

2.Support mandatory GMO labeling efforts. Tell your community about it! Find out if there are any mandatory labeling efforts in the works that you can support in your state. And no matter where you live, be sure you’ve signed the Just Label It petition to the FDA!

3.Host or attend an event. Check out the Non-GMO Month events calendar, and consider adding an event of your own. One powerful but easy idea? Host a film screening in your living room. Invite friends over to watch Genetic Roulette or The Future of Food and serve Non-GMO Project Verified snacks! Last night, I took all of my kids to watch Food Inc.  Lisa Leake, of 100 days of  Real Food, was there as a guest speaker. What a realistic and down to earth mom she is. I brought home some amazing literature to share with my sahm’s.

4.Find a Non-GMO Month Retailer near youMore than 1,300 natural food stores across the U.S. and Canada are participating in Non-GMO Month this year. These retailers are offering clear labeling, educational materials, and great deals on verified products. Show your support for their efforts by shopping at their stores and thanking them for being part of Non-GMO Revolution!  We frequent Earth Fare because of their coupons and other community engagement incentives.

Here’s more tips to get you started:

CLICK HERE!

Also, be sure to stop by my facebook page to win prizes from

Swircles & Happy family!

Leave a Reply

