Wednesday Wow: The Power of a real Mama,Willie Maxine Perry

There’s power in motherhood, Willie Maxine Perry, a preschool teacher at the New Orleans Jewish Community Center is a perfect example.madea

She went through alot of abuse in front of her children and sometimes watching them get  the abuse too. To protect them she would sometimes take them with her to run all of her mama errands. They would end up in hair salons, department stores, anywhere to have a safe, and quiet moment. Emmitt Perry Jr once said, “I always thought I would die before I grew up,” as he recounted details of his troubled childhood, including how his mother tried and failed to leave his abusive father,Emmett R. Perry Sr.,

TylerPerrymother_articleWEB“[My father] couldn’t get the bolts off because they were rusted. He looked up at me, and there was a smirk on my   face. All I remember is him tackling me, and I remember holding onto a   chain-link fence so tight, my hands are bloody and he’s hitting me … I feel like I died as a child.”came home, mad at the world,” he continued to write. “He was drunk, as he was most of the time. He got the vacuum cleaner extension cord and trapped me in a room and beat me until the skin was coming off my back.”

Perry goes on to relate accounts of being seduced by a friend’s mother at age 10, to being molested by another friend’s father, to finding out that his own father was molesting a friend. And he tells of how his grandmother made a bizarre attempt to rid him of his allergies.

“She said she was going to kill these germs on me once and for all,” he says. “She gave me a bath in ammonia.”
He said that he never felt safe as a child. After another vicious beating from his father, Tyler says he  blacked out for three days. Every day, he lived in fear that something would set his  father off. It got so bad, he took drastic measures by trying to slit his wrists to commit suicide.

Today, this child is living a life most would dream of with money, fame and seemly happiness. The ironic part of it is he made it by creating/acting the role he wished his mom would have in his life. Being vocal,bold, inspiring, a warrior, a protector , comforter and then sharing other traits in humor, ole school wisdom,tacky attire and a bit of “I don’t give a rats behind abut the law!” Could it be her way of saying, I’m sorry for never leaving the abuse? Maybe she’s leading him into a situuation in hopes that he’ll always have her & and  the life she wanted to give him?

 “My tears were tears of joy, being thankful that I made it. I know that there are a lot of people out there with stories far worse than mine but you, too, can make it. To those of you who have, welcome to life. I celebrate you.” 

tyler-perry

 

Maybe it’s me but, I don’t believe that ANYTHING just happens.  Willie Maxine Perry was abused, yet her son is “ok”. It doesn’t always happen this way,  as we have learned time after time.  Being a mom is a powerful thing.  She birthed a son that brought ‘laughter’ to a sad sad world. Never under estimate your strength as a mom. If you are in an abusive relationship……..Leave now. Release yourself & child of the toxic environment…..the hardest part is to walk.

 

Till next time, QCSupermom

Leave a Reply

