The Easiest and Cutest Planter Gardens EVER!

I LOVE watching things grow! Hair,kids, bank accounts and my plants!

pepers

I grew up in the fields of South Carolina. My grand parents had a large field on their property and we had the honor of sowing and harvesting it on the weekends, and boy how I hated it. I was too happy to leave for college to escape it. Eventually I forgot all about that part of my life. I forgot what it meant to grow real food. I even forgot how to replenish the earth and how to really feed my family. Lately, I had the “green ghost tapping me on my shoulder” reminding me of my “roots.” I began to want better tasting, safer to eat, veggies like the ones I had as a little girl. Then it hit me…..”Kelle, grow your own. S t a r t small!” “Duh!” So I did. The house we moved into is a rental and many owners do not want their property carved up, so I had to come up with a plan B. For me it was container gardening.

planter5

It turned out to be easier than I thought. The Gardening Gods are smiling on me! Sure every plant does not make it to fruition but we are having the time of our lives experimenting, discovering and digesting safe, clean amazing herbs, veggies and other plants in our funky, fresh containers. With just a little work and creativity, you can find the right space, container and plant to satisfy your gardening needs.  Not only will you save dinero, your kids will love the opportunity to be hands on with the container selection, prep and planting.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

I have gathered some of the coolest planters ever online to give you an idea of how ea

planter7

sy it is to find a planter very affordably. We have a son that is in another state attending college. He wears a size 15 shoe. Using his sneakers as a planters is on our list of things to do. It should be very fun to see a part of him every day in this function better known as “a growing foot”

 Here’s a few tips to get you started. Buy healthy seedlings or buy in season heirloom seeds. To start, go with mint, rosemary, chamomile, lavender, basil and oregano.

Proper soil is another crucial part of growing indoor plants. To make your own, mix potting soil with sand and a small amount of lime to give your herbs the best soil conditions for growth. When your herbs receive the right amount of water, they will flourish and thrive. A good idea of how often you need to water your herbs is every 1 to 2 weeks.

Now check out these cool ideas!

planter6

Indoor Herbs: A Growing Guide

 

How to Grow Your Own Indoor Culinary Herb Garden


planter4
planter3 herbs-indoors-380 I love these planters. They are so cute, simple efficient and practical. You can grab them up for pocket change. Although we don’t use soda bottles, I’m sure everything else can be secured very easily.

To your health, QCSupermom

Leave a Reply

