Friday Four: Mother’s Day is coming, thanks Anna Jarvis!

Mother = LOVE

                                                     Mother = LOVE

Have you ever wondered where  Mother’s Day originated? I did, so I did a little research. The tradition of celebrating mothers and motherhood has been around for quite awhile. Though beliefs about motherhood have varied widely, many cultures have marked entry into motherhood with ceremonies or have held annual festivals to honor mothers. 130428-062654

The earliest tributes to mothers date back to the annual spring festival the Greeks dedicated to Rhea, the mother of many deities, and to the offerings ancient Romans made to their Great Mother of Gods, Cybele. Christians celebrated this festival on the fourth Sunday in Lent in honor of Mary, mother of Christ. In England this holiday was expanded to include all mothers and was called Mothering Sunday.

Although there were other notable Mother’s Day efforts in the United States beforehand, the official holiday was forged from the efforts of West Virginia native Anna Jarvis. Anna was the daughter of Ann Jarvis, an activist and social worker who worked to create more sanitary communities. Following her mother’s death in 1905, Anna formulated the concept of Mother’s Day as a holiday to honor all American mothers and their contributions to their children and their country.

In May of 1908, Jarvis organized the first Mother’s Day celebration at a church in West Virginia, and shortly after, coordinated a huge letter writing campaign to publications and politicians as part of a PR campaign to build support for a nationwide holiday honoring mothers. After three years of hard work and persistence, Mother’s Day was celebrated in almost every American state, and finally, on May 8, 1914, President Woodrow Wilson signed a resolution that designated the second Sunday in May as Mother’s Day.

Of course it did not take long for florists and retailers to commercialize the holiday. Interestingly enough, only a few years after the establishment of Mother’s Day, Jarvis began to feel disgusted by the companies who were exploiting the holiday to turn a profit. By the time she died in 1948, Jarvis admitted she regretted fighting for the holiday altogether. Today it’s one of the biggest money holidays ever. We try not to get caught up in the madness of the day, but QC Supermom does enjoy a day service. YOU JUST CANT BEAT SERVICE! I do not want any candy, roses, store made cards or gifts? I am so happy that all of my living children are healthy,peaceful in the mind and love each other? I can’t get that from any store.

My Mother’s Day thoughts:

1. I had the best mom ever! She taught me lessons even in here absence.She taught me the honor in being a real mom. My mom was the most selfless person I’ve ever known. She would give anyone the shirt off her back so they would be comfortable. As a child I always thought that she was doing too much. But today, I understand it was all a lesson in which I try to apply.

What am I to say after a statement such as this?

What am I to say after a statement such as this?

2. I will admit, I don’t see myself getting inked any time soon, but it was a nice surprise to see my son honor me in such a way. He got my name on his arm! It sits inside of a crown. (how fitting for a Supermom from the Queen City)

Goddess Isis - Early Egyptian Roots

Goddess Isis – Early Egyptian Roots

3. Win a Pamper Day for mom! It’s a fun little contest from me to you all. This is a small contest. Body wrapping, Facial, Hair Style and healthy yummies   Entries will be limited to North Carolina only. (But I would LOVE to hear it all)Tell me the best advice you’ve ever received from your mom. Winner will be selected on MONDAY!

4. Children love being a part of greatness. I found this activity and had to share them. They are so cute!

I Love My Mom worksheet.

 

6 thoughts on “Friday Four: Mother’s Day is coming, thanks Anna Jarvis!

  1. Appreciating the time and energy you put into your website and in
    depth information you provide. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the
    same out of date rehashed material. Wonderful read!
    I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  2. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you
    may be a great author.I will make sure to bookmark
    your blog and will often come back very soon. I want to encourage that you continue your great work, have a nice afternoon!

  3. My brother recommended I would possibly like this web site.
    He was entirely right. This post truly made my
    day. You cann’t imagine simply how so much time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

