What every child needs to know before 16 years old

They built a Home Depot Ginger bread house.

They built a Home Depot Ginger bread house.

 

hd7Have you ever walked into your child’s room and it looked like Hell had an Auction ? Please don’t tell me that I’m the only one with that problem.DIGITAL CAMERA

She dresses well, cooks and baked great, she even has her book knowledge together well. I just can’t get her to keep that bed room clean for ANYTHING!

It never fails, I’ll either threaten her or hold a “carrot over her head” to get the results that I want in her bedroom.

It got me to thinking about the other things she and her 14 year old sister should have down pack before they leave our home within the next 3-4 years. So I made this list and went over it with my daughters. They accepted this checklist pretty well. (Good for them, as they don’t have parent rights up in this house)

 Here’s our family’s

“Ready  For The World Life Skills” Checklist

(It’s a list in progress feel free to add on in the comments)

Simple hair care knowledge. is essential

Simple hair care knowledge. is essential

“Set the timer for 20 minutes and take a 5-minute break. Do that a few times and then take a longer break.”

  1. How to communicate with adults casually and professionally.
  2. How to hem and repair a button
  3. How to change a tire.
  4. How to do their own taxes
  5. How to do laundry.

h

 “The teen years need to involve a gradual shift of responsibility to the teen.”

 

6. Know how to create and stick to a monthly budget.

7. What to do in case of an emergency, (car, medical, technical, spiritual)  

8.To have  working knowledge of herbs and plants.

9.How to properly clean cloths, and a entire house,

Resist the temptation to pick up the piles of clothes, books, and other messes in your child’s room. “If you keep organizing their room, they will not learn what works and what doesn’t.”

And last but not least,

10. How to create a full well balanced meal.

i

Not too bad huh? This morning, as I gathered up the troops to get the household chores done, I grabbed my laptop, a cup of green tea and sat down to see how I, err I mean they, measure up.If you’re interested in how we made out, grab a cup and follow me. We’ll chat like old friends right here:

See you there! QC Supermom

Leave a Reply

