Wednesday Wow! It’s Easy To Be A Fool!

It is SO Easy to be a FOOL!

Tuesday morning, my daughters and I were talking about foolishness. I was trying to explain to them that it’s easy to be a fool and that being wise and productive requires more effort. Like many moms, one of my biggest fears for my children is that they will fall in mainstream society and fail to recover.

fool

My daughters are 13 and 14, so they pretty much know right from wrong, but they are entering that ring pass not “pushing stage.” So, as we rode down the lovely streets of Charlotte, one of them asked why their dad is so hard on them….and Boy did I let them have the answer.

The first thing out my mouth was, “Being a Fool is Easy!” If your dad didn’t love you, he would not be here, or correcting you. His delivery maybe off, but he is valid in what he’s telling you. If you listen, you might learn something. Why be sugar coated? That’s unrealistic. In the real world when you are given watered down responses it weakens you. I want you to be mentally prepared for any challenge, may it be physically, mentally, socially, nutritionally, educationally, environmentally, or spiritually.”

a fool.

Man, I was on a roll.”The point of it all was to get them to see that anything worth having deserves both mental and physical effort. I went on to say chanting,  “It’s -Too- EASY- to – be- a -Fool!  You can literally wake up, and not do a thing to achieve it. I don’t want ya’ll to be a fool so let your skin thicken up and keep it moving.”

I was on a roll. I think I talked the entire way to our destination and back. But it paid off. As soon as we got home, they apologized to their dad and we haven’t had any problems yet. It just goes to show you that a teaching moment an happen at any time. For our children to know, we must take time, over and over again to teach and remind them. It’s not always easy, and you’ll want to quit but don’t sell yourself or them short. Why? It’s Too Easy To Be A  Fool.

Leave a Reply

