Breastfeeding Awareness And What Else

Breastfeeding.article1

Created By QC Supermom

August is National Breastfeeding Awareness Month. Did you know that?

Is BREASTFEEDING AWARENESS ENOUGH?

It’s been a year since the Charlotte NC Library fiasco.( See story here) I remember like it was yesterday. I sat in the library covered and was told to leave my seat to go into a 8×8 box to feed my son. Needless to say, that bird did not fly. Not only did I tell her she had no right to stop me from getting my work done at the library, but she also was violating my right to nurse my child. The nerves right?

Safe Libraries  encourage me to call them out for the suckers they are on NIP.

I choose to feed him in                              dignity!

What was most surprising was the fact the enforcer sent two ladies to me TWICE before confronting me. When she did approach me, she asked me some of the most ignorant questions ever! The way I see it, a less trained mom would have snatched her baby from the boob and threw it back in her shirt, in shame, quicker than you could say peep show.That older African American supervisor had no clue that she was speaking to a empowered advocate of breastfeeding. I’m so happy it was me and I stood my ground. I know that the benefits of nursing my baby out ways any healthy baby parasite. A real change needs to be made. The Health Department here in Charlotte NC has taken great steps to encourage breast feeding, but more progress could easily be made. 

Beautiful Poem called “Embarrassed”  -click it!    'baby's stomach

 

1. Provide more positive mentors. I’ve learned that many young moms refuse to breastfeed because no one ever told them, showed them that it was ok, and that it is better than the most expensive sneakers they could ever put on them. Keep programs like  the WIC BreastFeeding Peer group installed in the community.

2. Better representation – Is it just me or do you appreciate seeing people that look like you …..sometimes? It’s just another way of putting myself in the picture. Some people needs that visual. Mrs. B made the cover of a breastfeeding brochure but she wasn’t smiling. Yes, I looked. Can we see happy, loving married moms, single moms, siblings even moms of various color tandem nursing?

S.C. BreastfeedingCard

3. Install Value – Many females have been told their body is for sex only. SEX is a incredible thing, but that’s only half it’s for. Our bodies are a source of life. From our breast, ears, mouths, hearts, womb, eyes, arms, lap, legs and feet.

4. Real support from real moms – Le Lache, The United States Breastfeeding Committee,   U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, they are great information services but fail as sources for interventions and grassroots advocacy. On Face Book, you’ll see hundreds of breastfeeding groups that will jump at protecting, uplifting and spiritually supporting an oppressed nursing mom. Imagine if they were trained. What a sisterhood of force to be reckoned with!

Breastfeeding moms need more than a healthy start. They need progressive long term support long after we give birth. How else would she know how to respond to an NIP

( nursing in public) attacker if no one teaches her?

Even after delivery moms with little support NEED to be told to keep going. It's get better. The colostrum is enough. His tummy is very small right now.

Even after delivery moms with little support NEED to be told to keep going. It’s get better. The colostrum is enough. His tummy is very small right now. 

Watch this rap video….. it’s really good and I even don’t like rap!

Well, time to feed Noah, Take Care- QC Supermom

B R E A S T F E E D

B R E A S T F E E D

Leave a Reply

