Operation Mom; from Nurturer to Coach

mamaI am a blessed woman. I have 9 children, From 15 months to 20 years old. For each of them I’m a different mom. Based on where they are in development, I meet their needs differently.

Dr feelGoodNurturer- My 15 month old   I’m very attentive, nurturing and act as a human bottle and jumping gym to him. I still wipe his nose and change his diaper. This age they are the cutest.I can dress him in whatever I want to with out any back talk. This part is indescribably beautiful and awful all at the same time.

 

 Instructor -My 3, 4, and 6 year old

I’m teaching and reinforcing the rules and introducing new ones. My main job is to start building their self confidence and other essential character traits.For instance the Fruit Of The Spirits, is a great source to use as a model. Right now is important because they still soak up anything and everything.I’m not wiping their nose as regularly,cleaning up all their mess or changing their diaper, But I’m directing them and offering just a little less help.DIGITAL CAMERA

The coach – the 13,14,and 15 year old

An exciting time for all!

These are the girls in the family. Luckily, boys aren’t the main thing on their mind right now! They are still learning about their body, eating to live, what it means to be a girl today, the hierarchy of our family ( I make sure they understand that they have a voice,but because I’m NOT their friend – they must remain in control of their emotions) exploring their God given gifts as sufficiency options and how to do their chores better, To me, this is the most expensive time as they are more into their looks. As they move toward more independence, I still support and protect them. At this point, heck no, I’m not clean up their mess!

The girls with their cousin, Rissa Roo during a night on the town.

The girls with their cousin, Rissa Roo during a night on the town.

The consultant- My 20 year old

This can be an overwhelming time! But if I’ve done pretty well in previous stages, this should be less stressful. My son is in his 2nd year of college,new relationships emerge between us. He still needs me. Just less.

He still makes messes. Just different types. I instruct less and just listen more.Yes, it’s very hard when he gets supper excited about his “Girl flavor of the month” or other possible,weekend choices. But with a GPA of 3.5, I gotta kick him some slack.

My 1st and last born on the campus of Hampton University.

My 1st and last born on the campus of Hampton University.

You’ll find that the phases of parenthood aren’t entirely measurable or scientific. The phases overlap each other; one phase begins long before the previous phase passes completely. And different children will demand differing degrees of flexibility in moving from one phase to the next.

At the end of the day, always do your best!

Leave a Reply

