Wednesday Wow: Safer Chemicals Healthier Family; The Stroller Brigade

We must do better with these toxins. Sure they are everywhere, but some of them are more dangerous than others.

For the last 35 years, the federal law that is supposed to protect citizens from dangerous toxic chemicals in everyday products has been failing us. There are more than 82,000 chemicals on the market today, and only about 200 of them have ever been tested for health and safety. As rates of childhood cancer, autism, learning disabilities and other chronic diseases continue to rise, our families seem to be the subjects of a dangerous experiment. What happens when you expose American babies and children to constant doses of untested chemicals? Unfortunately, I think we are seeing the results in our health care system.

Read more: The Herald-Sun – Fighting toxic chemicals My son the Jedi lobbyist “

I grew up with a politician across the street from me. Mr Pasley is his name. Mr Pasley would never tell me what he did all day, but he always seemed to be in a hurry leaving his home. Dark shades, speeding in and out of his car. To this day, I still don’t know what he does for the government..

DSCI0274

I was happy leaving my family on this day.I knew that although it was my birthday, I would be back with them soon to their hugs, laughs and lovely rhetoric. In 2005, I left my family to be with SaMya, my daughter. Although I went back home, I left my 11year old, Samya and never seen her again. That also happened on my birthday, so it’s was all the more reason for me to go to Washington to be heard.mya

DSCI0293

The flight was just over an hour. My next ride didn’t come for another 30 minutes. I used that time to return phone calls and text messages. We moms know how to maximize our time!

“All consumers, regardless of income level, deserve to know the products on their store shelves are safe.”

– Shane Shirley Smith (Stroller Brigade mom, blogger, and business owner)

Once we got into Washington, I rearranged my bags and put Noah down so he could walk a bit more freely. He chased a pigeon.Those little hands were everywhere as he tripped and pushed back up. It was a beautiful simple play time for him. He didn’t think about toxins are any other  potential hazards. I immediately thought to myself, these politicians have to pass the Safe Chemicals Act. Requiring a labeling system will ensure our children’s toys, house hold cleaners, carpet, etc. are safer for our babies can continue to run and play freely.

after flying in from Charlotte NC , I arrived in BWI. Took the MARC into Washington. I was greeted with a hand massage.

after flying in from Charlotte NC , I arrived in BWI. We took the MARC into Washington. I was greeted with a “Birthday Girl” hand massage. Nice……….

As a mom that has lost an amazing daughter to toxins, I was happy to share why I think strong laws should be made right away. No one should loose their child to something that could be avoided. I for one do not want to loose anymore children. 1I know that others have read packaging, couldn’t figure if it was a real threat, and bought it anyway. They have no clue how dangerous it was, or trusted that no one in their right minds would poison them on purpose. That’s not right and I think they got the message.

us Moms Rising

We, as parents have to be a voice. We have to ask questions. If not, who will? Talk to YOUR senators. They work for YOU! WE hired them. (Thank you Senators and staff for your time)

Watch the Stroller Brigade here- (click here)  and here –The Stroller Brigade with Safer Chemicals, QC Supermom, Jessica Beals & other awesome stroller pushing participants.                  The fun starts here!

Okay, I'll agree it looks different. BUT it makes sense. Moms SHOULD BE HEARD.

Okay, I’ll agree it looks different. BUT it makes sense. Moms SHOULD BE HEARD.

Mya, Noah (& 7 other kids) mom, QC Supermom

Leave a Reply

