Friday Four: The Dog Doula

I have a new client and yes, it’s a dog. Not what I had in mind for my sixth client, but hey you take lemons and make a yummy big cup of tea with it. A birth is a birth.

Same blood, pushing, waiting and excitement! But there are some differences between the two. Here’s four:

1. Star will have just nine weeks of pregnancy. (You should see the look on my face when I learned that) We can go for 10 months and these wild things only get 9 weeks? Thanks God.

2. Star won’t need a larger fitting wardrobe. My daughter wants to dress her up so bad. I may let her do something simple. Making certain not to pissed Star off too much. A I’ve learned that she is entering into a whelping stage (relative to a human moms nestling)

I added that picture because her puppies should look like that. Star is a small,  white haired,albino terrier.

I added that picture because her puppies should look like that. Star is a small, white haired,albino terrier.

3. We can’t put child support on the pappy! Yes, dogs cost! I already have great homes for at of them. If she has more, we” that’s more work for me. We can’t afford to keep them.

4. It’s normal for Star to eat her placenta right smack there during delivery. I heard that will be a moment that I may want to look the other way for.

 

Fortunately dogs are much better equipped to deal with the whole birthing process than humans are. My role will be confined to making sure she is comfortable, watching from a sensitive distance, and only intervening if something goes seriously wrong

Well there’s a first for everything. Seems that my dog will have a doula.

(A birth doula /BIRTH ATTENDANT-

 (pronounced ‘doo-la’) is a Greek word meaning ‘woman servant or caregiver; someone who offers emotional and physical support to a woman and her partner before, during and after childbirth. A doula believes in ‘mothering the mother’, enabling a woman to have the most satisfying experience that she can, from pregnancy and into motherhood.)

 

Leave a Reply

