Wednesday Wow: HBCU’s

If you have ever been to a African American church in the South East, you know what a spirit filled testimony is. Let’s pretend it’s Sunday morning for just a bit shall we.

I grew up in a church very similar to this one in SC.

I grew up in a church very similar to this one in SC.

This is The Day The Lord Has Made. I will Rejoice And Be Glad In It.

First off, I want to give thanks to the creator of everything good, bad and down right ugly. For each of those things have humbled me and kept me grateful. This morning when I woke up, I had NO doubt that it was a gift from God.

I stand before my you with greetings from Bedside Methodist Living Water- All ways on time Church of God. Where the pastor is none other than Pastor Isis Brown.

Many attend HBCUs to become closer to their  roots, learn more about their history, and be in an environment with other black students who wanted to do the same.

Many attend HBCUs to become closer to their roots, learn more about their history, and be in an environment with other black students who wanted to do the same.

I wanted to give thanks today. 21 years ago when they said you’re pregnant, I wanted to pull out my happy hand and slap everyone. Starting with myself, the person that read the results, took my urine samples and the guy that gave me the sperm. I didn’t know then but it was a blessing in disguise. I was blessed to have parents that was willing and able to help out. To them, the focus hurry up learn something and get your child.Over the years, we walked along the path of life with other amazing people. Life as a teen mom had its ups and downs. But there were always angels to help us along the way. I would share the list but I know the food is waiting for us in the kitchen.

Janelle Linnen.

Janelle Linnen.

I had the honor of attending my very 1st HBSU college basketball game this week at South Carolina State University. Hampton tore their behind up! Church ya’ll should’ve seen them dunks, plays, pep squad, incredible band, attending Greeks, vibrant fans; ooowee! We had a great time. Well in that moment, I realized that every minute of the nine months, calls to the coach, having his dad take him to the ” Scared Straight”program, making him sleep in the car, getting him to help in the garden, and every other strategy used was well worth it. My son is a student at Hampton University. He’s happy, and doing what he loves most while bringing much joy to the world. So church, I won’t take up much more of your time. I just wanted to say, Thank God for the village!

village

(If you have never attended a Historically Black College and University basketball game, find the nearest one to you and go.If you need to rent a car, like we did (ours got total lost; call Joy over there at Crown Rental on Orr Rd., she’ll hook you up). It’s an amazing experience!) Well, I’ll have my seat now. Thank you for ya time and let’s worship!

The Whitest Historically Black College In America

Top 25 Colleges for Black Students

Scholarships to HBUC’s that have deadlines in 3 days! 

Top 10 Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) Accomplishments in 2013

Hampton

Leave a Reply

