Wednesday Wow: Vegan-maybe?

Each week we have a theme for our home-school, or at least try to. this week it’s all about vegan-ism. Yes, the Big “V!”

pop out veggie

I’ll be the first to tell you that I LOVE vegan food. Meat has never been a big deal to me, or the children for the most part. Every once in a while poultry and seafood gets in my taste-buds, but that is twice a month. ( Please don’t ask me about cheese)

One of my daughters and my husband are struggling vegetarians. I gotta tell you, even after watching that video,and a few other gruesome videos, I know vegetarianism isn’t for me.AND it doesn’t make me a bad person. I will continue to eat the best food that I can afford and continue looking for inspiring ways to provide plant based edibles for my family. While I know that it’s not easy for many parents, I urge you to take small steps. your family’s health is worth the consideration. With a little research, you’ll find a few recipes that everyone will love!

v

 

hulk break fast flax seed, almond, Chia Seed Smoothie  - and turkey sausage.

hulk break fast flax seed, almond, Chia Seed Smoothie – and turkey sausage.

Vegucated is a 2011 American documentary film that explores the challenges of converting to a vegan diet. It “follows three meat- and cheese-loving New Yorkers who agree to adopt a vegan diet for six weeks.”

Try this recipe-

Tropical Mango Banana Smoothie

Yield: Serves 1 generously

 The mango gives this smoothie a decadent kick. It may be bright green in color, but you won’t taste the greens at all in this creamy green smoothie!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup frozen banana
  • 2 tablespoons chia seeds
  • 1-2 leaves of kale, ribs removed
  • 1/4 cup frozen mango
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 4 ice cubes

Instructions:

  • Blend all of the ingredients in a blender until smooth.

Notes: (Cadry says: When using a regular blender, I recommend blending the greens and almond milk first before adding the other ingredients. It can be difficult for a non high-speed blender to break down those fibrous walls, and giving the greens extra time on their own ensures a smoother smoothie.)

I love the idea of losing weight and avoiding a high cholesterol. However I’m not the best cook, so our options are to make LOADS of pizza, eat at Earth Fare more often than we do/& find vegan friends that can cook very well. What else is there?

If you’re looking at the naughty food in your fridge, thinking about turning the new leave but don’t want to throw away your money already invested in your kitchen, go on – EAT it!  There’s no judging here.Not a problem as long as you Unjunk Your Junk Food

 

QC Supermom

Leave a Reply

