Friday Four: Women’s History Month for SAHMs

This month we are celebrating women by acknowledging their purpose and influence in our lives. 

My children ask on a regular “Mom, when are you going back to work?” The teens want the freedom that comes with both parents away from home and my young sons see many women in a place of business. So yes, I understand where they are coming from. However, one day they understand and appreciate the history I’m building now for their future was well worth the investment.

No, she can be anything she wants except UNGRATEFUL, a prostitute or drug dealer; I might step in then.

I’d rather not be in some high end, drudging career myself.- QCSAH mom

Like many other mothers, history is being made right now while we raise our children.   If you’re anything like me, you decided that you wanted to see every 1st of your child. That choice alone comes with consequences. I have chosen to make the most of this time by making sure I give them everything they need to survive,  Let me connect Women’s History Month to Stay at Home Moms.

Here are 4 Things You Shouldn’t Say to A SAHM during Women’s History Month

1. Well, maybe one day, you’ll do something worthy to be remembered.  We SAHM’s are tremendously influential in helping our children thrive and give them countless amounts of encouragement and support to foster their independence and self worth. Being able to stay home is a blessing that many children don’t have and many need.

2. Why do you think you should ever be considered special? Somehow we have embraced the idea that in order to be successful, women have to be CEOs of Fortune 500s. But that’s not true. I am a leader raising leaders at home. As they say, “The hand that rocks the cradle rules the world.”

3. SAHM’s aren’t famous for anything  in any history book. Here’s just 1 for you dear! Abigail Adams raised President John Quincy Adams while advocating and modeling an expanded roles for women in public affairs during the formative days of the United States. Eat that.

4. When are you going back to work?  UUugh, I do work. My job goes 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. There are no sick days, no vacation days and relatively few breaks and quiet times. (Also see this great link about today’s SAHM)

As a woman that has worked both in and out of the home, it is easier to answer to one boss for a few hours than multiple little bosses all day and night.

Somewhere in there they attend a PTA meeting or some sort of charitable or neighborhood committee, or bake something for a bake sale. These are all things that contribute to our community. But admittedly a lot of working moms just don’t have time for such activities- QCSAHM

It’s great that we have a month devoted to women, but we should celebrate and educate ourselves daily on the women who have made our world a better place.

Happy Women’s History Month.  I appreciate the women who fought so that I can have a fulfilling life. I’m glad I’m able to help my children follow their dreams.

My Good Night message to all my fellow SAHM’s 

QC Supermmom

Leave a Reply

