Girls need all types of Shero’s!

Yes! It’s another salute to Women’s History Month. Don’t you just love it? Today, I’m talking about the young girls and why they need shero’s.

My mom, pastor Odessa Thompson,and aunt Bertha were mine. In a odd way my grandmother, as mean as she was to me, she  was too. htI learn many things from each of them. My parents knew that it took a village, and they provided it. Now I’m playing it forward. I actively look for opportunities and other strong women to pour into my daughters life. The good, bad and the controlled -flat out ugly. Well as much as I can, some things they must experience to earn them character.

One of my honorary daughters grew up very rough. Her mom worked ALL of the time. When she wasn’t, she stayed in the house and slept. Any time between that was spent keeping up with her much younger husband. (Now, I’ll give her credit, when we hit the road, she always had her traveling money.) We’ll this girl made the most of it. I kept reminding her how awesome, clever and smart she is. Because she really was! Today, she sits at the top of her class, plays sports, no babies or abortions, criminal record, works part time and still calls me mom to this day. I think that I made a difference. I still look back at out throw together summer field trips.

Our girls need more strong role models and structure to encourage positive self-images and confidence. They must see that they can be competent and successful.

Today, I get by with a little help from my friends. Last Friday evening, my teen girls went out with their honorary grandma Ruth and auntie Aisha to a live play by Tomorrow’s R.O.A.D..It was a one woman show honoring the life of Harriet Tubman. Ms Karen played 35 roles. (Not sure how she does it but bless her heart!) Anyhoots, they had a great time.

Mama Ruth are the girls honorary grandma

Mama Ruth are the girls honorary grandma

They seen, felt and examined many antiques from the 30’s. “D” told me she was praying tonight for sturdy hands. Mama Ruth brought antiques to share. As my girls were viewing it, they were reminded to be careful. Mama Ruth said, “I had that all my life, be careful! ”

See,

Old pot

Old pot

I told Asha Drew that she was gonna play a significant role in my girls life, she thought I was playing. In less than one year, here we are.  I CLAIMED THAT for them and made it happen!

“I truly believe in speaking things into existence. Not to get all Tony Robbins, but you speak it, and it can definitely happen to you.”- Nick Cannon

What we speak is the truth for us. We create truth from our words but don’t forget to move your feet!

Cassie's using a soup ladle!

Cassie’s using a soup ladle!

 

Parents, moms, announce what you want with all the determination and hopefulness you can muster and watch the world bring it straight to you. If I can discover strength, support and willingness like this in others for my daughters, so can you! Don’t allow B.Ë.T. and The Vine mold your daughters. There are people out there that will help you.

Harriet's Return, By Karen J.Meadows Tomorrow's R.O.A.D. and Ulysses: Charlotte Festival of The Arts

Harriet’s Return, By Karen J.Meadows, Tomorrow’s R.O.A.D. and Ulysses: Charlotte Festival of The Arts

 

Go get it!

QC Supermom

Leave a Reply

