You missed the AHA deadline too?

Come on, you can tell me. Did you make the insurance deadline?  “Get Covered!” They said, “It’s  everyone’s responsibility” they added. The stress builds and leads to more than crows feet so I would understand if you didn’t.

ee

You wont get an argument outta me. Everyone needs GOOD coverage. Anything can happen. For my family of 9, a bizarre emergency would literally cripple us.  So yes, we are covered. But what happens if you missed the deadline?  Here, I’ll explain it all.

 First off, let me disclose that it as simple as it should have been. The system stopped on me while I was processing my 7th child. (I was like, “Yes, they are all mine computer!!! ) All whilst prompting me to continue my online application. Weird right?  Some how I made it through.

 

Here were my options:

1. See what the health insurance plans offer and fill out an application through the Marketplace: For me it is the North Carolina Health Insurance Marketplace.

2. Go to your state’s Medicaid office or your state’s Marketplace to find out if you qualify for any special programs tailored to certain health conditions. 

3. Buyers can always go directly to an insurance company, but it may be expensive. Plans bought outside the marketplaces don’t come with government subsidies that hold down the cost for people with low or mid-level incomes. But they do include the law’s consumer protections.
4.Remain UninsuredIt is important to have insurance, which helps pay for care if you are injured or suffer an expensive illness. Unfortunately, in your state and at your income, you may not have an affordable option if you don’t qualify for Medicaid or financial help in the new Marketplace.

5. GET READY FOR NEXT TIME- Open enrollment for 2015 is coming later this year. It’s scheduled to begin Nov. 15 and run just three months. That’s another chance to get covered or switch into a plan with subsidies.

I made a few phone calls. 1-800-318-2596 (HealthCare.Gov) was one number I was able to get information from. If I didn’t make a choice. It was explained to me as the following:

THINGS YOU SHOULD KNOW If YOU DIDN’T MAKE THE INSURANCE DEADLINE

  • Even though there is a new health insurance requirement, you can’t go to jail for not having insurance.
  • There are no penalties if you don’t have an obligation to file income taxes.
  • There are also no penalties if your cheapest health insurance option costs more than 8% of your yearly family income.7

NOW, IF YOU JUST MISSED IT  & REALLY WANT IT:

March 31 is technically the last day of open enrollment for the Affordable Care Act’s health insurance marketplace.

So what happens if you miss the deadline?

First off, don’t panic. The Obama administration has left enrollment open if you started their application online but got caught up with technical problems. Hurry you have till April 15 to finish, administration spokesman Aaron Albright said Tuesday. Paper applications will be accepted until April 7.

I gotta tell you, being covered, feels really good! Looks as though over 7 million others agree! Thank you President Obama! 🙂

One Happy Mama,

QC Supermom

 

2 thoughts on “You missed the AHA deadline too?

Leave a Reply

