Friday Four: A Doula’s fourth-of-july of July

I am proud to be an american in-spite of everythingHappy 4th Of July!!!!

I delivered my 5th doula baby a few hours ago!!! Talk about a true “Labor Day!” Speaking of Independence Day, what all do you really know about it? The Europeans man of freedom from Britain? Cook out time with family and friends? A break from work. A celebration of giving birth?

I know it looks like play time, but we're working here.

I know it looks like play time, but we’re working here.

My husband says, it has been watered down over the years and it doesn’t have an significant meaning to him. That’s his meaning of 4th Of July.

My preference is different. As a child, I was in love with the idea of “Working and making loads of money.” It’s true! With age Does comes wisdom. Yes, I love keeping utilities on and helping others. But I can’t wait till my working hours level off.  As a mom,that work from home, it’s easy to pull 40-60 hours a week- Easy!!!!

Labor Day is viewed as the unofficial last day of vacation before the start of the new school year (and mourned by students all over).  Stated differently, it is the Back-to-School kickoff (cheered by parents all over!).

To all the hard working folks out there, I salute you. On behalf of everything we do, let’s take the day off and let our fro down.

Here, look what I found online and on our family book shelf!

My 5th "Doula" baby.

My 5th “Doula” baby.

The 4th of July

(”aka’ Independence Day)  is a national U.S. holiday. It always falls on a Friday.What better day if you ask me.

What are we celebrating? The contributions and achievements of the 155 million men and women who are in the U.S. workforce.

Although, it began in Canada, Stemming from 1870’s labor disputes in Toronto, in 1872. We celebrate the country’s Declaration of Independence from Great Britain on July 4, 1776. The actual legal separation of the former 13 colonies actually took place on July 2, 1776, but but the declaration document written by Thomas Jefferson (later the third president of the United States) was not ratified until two days later.

In the late 1800s the average American worked 12-hour days and seven-day weeks to eke out a basic living. Children as young as 5-6 years old worked in factories and mines.

John Adams, later second president of the United States, wrote that “The second day of July, 1776, will be the most memorable epoch in the history of America. I am apt to believe that it will be celebrated by succeeding generations as the great anniversary festival. “

Women business owners employ 35 percent more people than all the Fortune 500 companies combined.

He was almost right, though the celebration has taken place on the 4th of July from the beginning. Early festivities often included 13-gun salutes, parades, and fireworks. Then in June 1994, Congress voted to make Labor Day a national federal holiday.

Question: How many rays are on the crown of the Statue of Liberty?

One for each continent, according to the StatueofLiberty.org.

carowinds today

Well did any of this surprise you? Here’s how I spent Labor Day- With MY FAMILY chilling out. The girls went too but they didn’t stick around. Every once in awhile they checked in and graced us with a smile. 🙂

I hope your day went well. Learn more here!

 

Leave a Reply

