Friday Four: Bubble Blankets

Have you seen those puff quilts, often referred to as biscuit/bubble quilts? They are cute lush comforters assembled by sewing squares of fabric together to form pockets, and then stuffing the pockets with fiberfill. They remind me of the ones my grandmother made waaaaaaay back in the days. We loved them. Watching her make them was just as exciting as using it at her house for the beds. I didn’t inherit any of those lovely but heavy quilts when she transitioned. I had no chance against the other grandkids, aunts, uncles, and other folks. To buy these new puff quilts, you’ll be pulling on your seams for $250. I want one, BUT-ta-ra-um….I can’t justify buying one when I can make one just like it for a quarter of the purchasing cost. The extra money can be used for gas,utilities, personal hygiene products,groceries, you know stuff we really need. 

My quilt would have a wide trim and backing of silk or satin. Using my children previously loved baby T’s, blankets, favorite clothing and maybe even a few of my favorite nursing tops  would make it green friendly as well.. It would be the cutest thing ever to add on and pass down from generation to generation.

$50. Handmade  Heirloom Bubble Quilt

$50. Handmade Heirloom Bubble Quilt

I started on one shortly after Mya passed in 2005 but never finished it. We lost it during our last move. Maybe I’ll make her name out of white blocks in the shape of the letter “M” in memory of her.

Heck, I may have my 14 year old daughter make this. She already loves to sew. And you never know this may prove to be something lucrative for her.

I do believe in fill their resource cups. What better way than with creative, one of a kind, puff, biscuit/bubble quilts? Her great grandma did it, why not her? $80 puff quilt

Why Not YOU?

Love you to stiches,

QC Supermom

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

