Goodbye Homeschool; Hello Charter School

I hope no one dares try to put me in a box. Although I support homeschooling 100%; I do what’s best for my family. As you should do for yours.

HoooRay! The girls are leaving homeschool!!!! Yup, you heard it hear! Their home schooled days are officially behind them. Hoooray!!!!  (yes, I’m  excited, can you tell?)

School days coming

After researching their perspective schools and visiting the campuses, made me want to attend high school all over again.

She said that her phone will be her best friend.

She said that her phone will be her best friend.

I remember when we took them out of public school like it was yesterday. It was horrible and no one was on our child’s side.

One daughter was bullied and bored. Every day she would weep. the children teased her because she wanted to learn, and the teachers ignored her because she kept asking for more work.

Even after numerous trips to the

Entrepreneur High School -DR Potts

Entrepreneur High School -DR Potts

school to discuss my concerns with the teacher, principal and even guidance counselor, nothing worked long term and it started to get old really quick. My other daughter was just restless. She got to a point where she felt like an insignificant number. We felt that the teachers were on the same level as her classmates. Things got way too unruly for us and yes, it was right up her alley.  We had to make changes before they became a habit. So I went to the placement center and it seemed like they gave me very little options. I had no options but to keep them with me at home. Who better right? I could help them prepare for life. FAST FORWARDING—the girls have their own business ( Cassie Sweetz  and The Big Sister ) and both are well involved in the community.

Culinary teacher  and uniformSo, I think it’s fair to say home school worked from them. Now they need something more. Something, that I can’t give them. More social skills with their peers, a more consistent study into college (should they choose to go), prom*, a break from each other; I’m not sure, but this decision feels right.

I’m sending them to  Entrepreneur High School and Kennedy Charter (on the campus of Johnson C.Smith University) both excellent choices for my girls. I have weighed the pros and cons and decided that they would benefit est at the perspective charter schools. 

If you need help navigating this big decision start some where. Ask yourself what’s best for your child. Can you give it to them? The answer will come. What I don’t want you to do is get lost in the education shuffle. I feel sorry for this mom. She should not be punished for wanting better for her son! Free Tonya McDowell!

I think both daughters will do just fine!

Ten Things to Look for In a School

10 Things Colleges Look for in a High-School Student

Read more on FamilyEducation: http://school.familyeducation.com/college-prep/high-school/56210.html#ixzz3AqJZWfVs

Leave a Reply

