Depression: When the music changes, so does the dance

Mental illness is real and should not be taken lightly. This is the second beautiful soul to leave this Earth, that I know of this year. Monday was such a sad day. I felt a real lost! Everyone should feel like they have someone on their side with resources to talk to because they do. My hands are up in the air!!!!You know someone with mentla illness and it's alright.

Have I ever been depressed? YES. At least 4 times a year. For different reasons, at different times of the year. Many do not know, but I lost my 11yr old daughter in 2005. She was just 11 years old and yes, my world changed that cold dark morning in October- days before my 30th birthday. It was unexpected and heartbreaking. A year later, my mom, my best friend transitioned too. My husband is not the friendliest at all times, (poor thing, is a veteran and came home with PTSD), my money isn’t either. My amazing children do not always do what I expect from them all of the time. Even on a more personal level, I can’t loose and keep off the weight, no matter how well I eat and stay on the go. Live is full of challenges. I don’t know if I’m coming or going at times myself!

Why I never harmed myself: Good question, I still can’t figure it out. Grace and mercy I guess! Going from a well paying corporate career to a stay at home mom is a big adjustment. I have 8 living kids that truly need me, a bright future that I’ve worked so hard to grow, and most of all, I want to see my children become productive adults.

Depression is the most common form of mental illness, affecting more than a quarter of Americans at some point in their lives.

Depression is the most common form of mental illness, affecting more than a quarter of Americans at some point in their lives.

When I heard the news of Titi, I came across a post by my friend, LaQuita Bullock, a mental health activist. She shared:

Mental illness is REAL! So many of our people suffer in silence afraid of judgment and criticism. Its ok to get help! Its ok to not be ok! If you feel like you have no where to go or that you just don’t feel right, go get help. People with diabetes seek help, people with high blood pressure seek help! They take medicines and try to help themselves get better. Why can’t it be that way with a mental health issue?! I have spoken to psychiatrist, been diagnosed and I’m still living! Its not a shield of doom to have a mental illness. Anxiety attacks, uncontrollable mood swings,flash backs that scare you for days, depression so bad the only out you feel there is is death! But I sought help! I didn’t let mfs tell me what I needed. I just did what I needed to do for me and my family. Now I help others, and it feels good! Were going to break this stigma especially in minority communities. Its ridiculous to look down on someone for something they can’t help! It aint the devil, we aint crazy, you just STUPID! Step up your knowledge game.
My page on mental illness and I’m here if people want info or help. Message me on my page. This was such a huge loss. Rest with angels Miss Titi
Www.Facebook.com/minoritymentalillness 

Karyn Washington- blogger/activist

“I wish someone had told Karyn Washington that she didn’t have to be strong.” – @gorgeousingrey

NOT one more!!!!!

To learn more about suicide and the state of mental health in the Black community, click the links below:Titi Branch, one of the co-founders of the wildly successful natural hair care line

Why We Need to Call Suicide What It Is

The Fight Against Black Depression Continues

Friends, family, strangers and all between,  remember this, however long the night, the dawn Will break! Get help now. Please seek help National Suicide Prevention Lifeline 1-800-273-8255 – QC Supermom

Stop The Stigma of Mental Illness

Leave a Reply

