Friday Four: Mom Politics

No it isn’t a oxymoron. As a mom, I’ve been voting for over 25 years now. I have been often asked how do I feel about one candidate over the other. With the exception to President Obama, my answer has always been the same.  I am ultimately responsible for the livelihood of my family. One person could never have that  much power over my family.”

My oldest and a younger son on our tiny grill. It works- Don't hate. :)When I say that, it usually takes people by surprise until they think about my words. Then it clicks! Because we teach our children about morals, total wellness, self sufficiency and tenacity there is less cause to worry. Sure we have issues, but we always pull it back together.  my daughter sewing - self sufficiency

Would you believe me if I told you that my husband doesn’t vote? He doesn’t think votes are honored and that candidates are selected – not elected. And that’s ok. We have enough children to equalize him. I see decisions, and action coming from the top. So why not focus on that level of politics. Here’s my 4 tips to avoid being crippled by the system:

Feeding ourself

Alright – Kendrick Lamar

 And them sandwiches I made, don’t eat ’em all at once. … promise me you’ll never let nobody turn you into no cripple.

  1. Understand and learn the law. – You have a whisper when you vote*. Just imagine if you were in the role of the decision makers. Decision Makers/the upper echelons * have economic assets, alliances, and the state in their column. Others* have their numbers and their key locations in the economic-social process. let’s learn the game so we can play. Then Play the game to Change the game!
  2. Learn how to make it work for you- Knowing that someone did you wrong and getting justice are two different things. There are so many clinics, books, law libraries available. Most of them are free. There is nothing more empowering them the feeling of voice!  Being able to act progressively on your on behalf requires work. Get the entire family involved and watch how confidence soars!
  3.  Don’t just be a democrat or republican because your parents are. Earlier this year, I took my sons to a Student Mock General Assembly . It was organized by Americans For Prosperity and hosted by Republican William “Bill” Brawley.  The boys learned how a bill becomes a law! I have yet to hear about or attend one hosted by the democrat. For that reason I would never say which is better. You can  make the decision for yourself.
  4. Empower others!- Create a culture of resistance — by making collective actions and solidarity more attainable. Today, I don’t know any other mom fueled organization that empower moms better than Momsrising. Power is unequally distributed in organisations. That may never change, but organizations like Momsrising implements a number of strategies that can reduce the power of the strong or at least curtail their ability to use such power.
    William "Bill" Brawley

In closing, On April 24, 2015, Rep. Bill told a room full of young kids that one day he wouldn’t be here and someone will have to fill his house seat for the 103rd District. He asked “Why not you?” I dream of one day asking a mom of a upper echelon when did they know they were raising a “Decision Maker / member of the upper echelon.

Moms we are indeed in politic. Everyday of our life is a direct reflection of our action/ inaction. We have to  prepare our children now for tomorrow. It will make the difference between our children watching things happen and wondering why and making things happen.

2 thoughts on “Friday Four: Mom Politics

Leave a Reply

