Fun Family Character Challenge Inspired By H. Jackson Brown, Jr.

Yesterday, we went to the library and my boys put on a puppet show for this cute little girl. They were so charming! I was like my goodness, is that all it takes to alter their moods so quick? Especially when they had just been upset because we needed to leave in 15 minutes?  Right then,they were the puppets and she was puppet master. I may have looked too much into this, but I was sort of bothered. Of course the little girl was super cute. But I wanted them to be ‘better’- All Of The Time.  And I knew that certain traits must be groomed from the womb.

 Pressley Rasta boys doing a puppet show for s pretty girlBecause there is room for improvement with my entire family, I figured I needed to find a way to encourage certain traits that will serve them through life. I got home, and came across this huge poster that keeps falling to the floor upstairs.  Then it hit me. I bought this poster because I liked it. I wanted my children to learn and live it, from the inside out. So after pondering ways to get them interested in reading it I came up with a game.

I call it the “Successful Family Challenge” Check it out and please let me know what you think of it.

   “Successful Family Challenge”

Family game for great kids

Objective: To help build each other up by challenging them to character goals for 7 days then 30 days at a time.  The goal is to encourage better behavior in a positive and fun way.

Instructions:

Read the poster with the children and explain what each statement means. We even gave examples using our everydays lives as a tie in. This action allows everyone to self examine themselves as well as find a trait that needs adaption for their sibling/parent. The poster is numbered so selecting a challenge will be much easier to recorded and referred to to as needed.

After everyone’s name is written on a piece of paper. Toss the pieces of paper into a hat. Allow each person to pull and name.

Once the name is pulled, the puller selects a number from the board to give their sibling/parent as their challenge. The number and name is said out loud then written down by an older child or parent and kept in a safe place for the 7- 30 day challenge.

Each family member should be reminded of their challenge in creative ways from the puller as well as other family members. (Try writing it on their bathroom mirror, or in a text.  For smaller ones, a verbal reminder will work.)

There is no material prize. You can of course give one if you choose, instead offer a privilege. Because they have successfully improved himself  to some degree and deserve an appropriate “reward.”

Here’s what our Challenge Card’ look like: We categorized the name of the puller, the challenge number and the person who has been given the challenge.Family Challenge Card

Well that’s it! I’ll let you know how my family does in 7 days. Time to get back to the homeschool class room.

Be Real,

Jabela

Can be used from 5-50 year olds.

Can be used from 5-50 year olds.

2 thoughts on “Fun Family Character Challenge Inspired By H. Jackson Brown, Jr.

    • Everyone made positive efforts to improve their flaws. For me, it was an added chore sending subtle reminders and creating opportunities to practice desired skills. But it was all worth it. Last week, we incorporated physical rewards to keep the little boys motivated. Nothing big, just stickers, and other trinkets from the dollar store. I’m glad we tried it. If you do, please come back & tell me how it goes.

Leave a Reply

