Ani leh-dodee veh-dodee lee = “I DO!”

I believe in Love. I believe in Family. I believe in Marriage……(Even though at any given time they can be a major pain in the rear at times.)

Sample Script

I’m walking in a new pair of shoes now……. I’m a official Universal Church Marriage Officiant. After 7 years of being ordained , I finally solemnized my first wedding and it was so bitter sweet!

Although I practice a zillion times, I bombed during the ceremony. HARD! I stressed on minor things like my hair, shoes, scarf – everything! More than my during my own wedding. The couple was so perfect for each other. The husband was a gentle sweetie. Just a tall teddy bear, the wife, who hired me was a straight shooter,and a business friend i respect a lot. The bills went straight to daddy and boy did he pay up. It was a dream weekend. No stones was left unturned. NOTHING!

Universal Officiant and life celebrant Universal Life Church

What I learned:

Put EVERYTHING IN WRITING. People forget what they say as the date gets closer. Having written details helps get you paid and keep confusions down. It benefits everyone.

Some brides know EVERY PART of a traditional wedding.  They have dreamed of this moment all of their lives. They could marry themselves if legally possible. SO no short cuts.

Offer my script  to allow them to make small changes and edits as desire*

Remember to ask “Who gives This woman to be married?”  (I was suppose to say:”  Who gives this woman to be married to this man?

Parents:
We do.

Then the bride is given away)

Remember to say “You My Now Kiss The Bride” -(I was suppose to say- ”

Celebrant:
May this couple be prepared to continue to give, be able to forgive and experience more and more joy with each passing day, with each passing year. (Groom’s Name) and (Bride’s Name), are now beginning their married life together, we hope that they may have loving assistance from their family, the constant support of friends, and a long life with good health and everlasting love. In so much as (Groom’s Name) and (Bride’s Name) have consented to live forever together in wedlock, and have witnessed the same before this company, having given and pledged their troth, each to the other, and having declared same by the giving and receiving of a ring, I pronounce that they are husband and wife.

Celebrant: (to the couple):
You may now seal the promises you have made with each other with a kiss.

Celebrant:
Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you the loving couple
Mr. and Mrs.” )

Remember to only take suggestions from the one whose getting married or paying me***

I found online these awesome tips: Some couples have wanted a sounding board to bounce ideas off of as they write their ceremonies, and some friends have needed a lot of writing and outline help to put words to their vision. But regardless of how much I was involved in the creation of the ceremony, what I found critical (and difficult!) was my role as General Ceremony Tone-Setter. See, if you’re the one standing up there, guests will be looking expectantly at you and taking your cues for what the overall mood is going to be. Even though your precise words or your outfit may not linger, how you say what you say, and how you manage the emotion and energy of the room will contribute to how they remember the ceremony.

That goes for the rehearsal, too. I found it really helpful to walk through the rehearsal with the couple beforehand, to get a sense of what they needed from me. If it’s the latter, I went incredibly slowly, repeated messy parts, practiced the walk in and out at least twice, and was the most generally cheerful Julie the Cruise Ship Director version of myself.

Ok, now that’s done, who’s next? But in the end….. As of Monday 10.19. 2015…… they are husband and wife! The original plan was accomplished.  This is fun! I get to meet awesome folks, get paid AND I get fed!

Rice Curtis Pulley

Leave a Reply

