Friday Four: Thanksgiving- FIND YOURS

Thanksgiving carries different meanings for different people. My family on my dad side host a huge dinner. Everyone gathers at an elders family member home and we eat, laugh and lounge until the belt button pops! Then walk it off with our more fit aunts! The guys usually play a round of football or basketball.  Some even ride a horse. It’s awesome because everyone is included and made to feel welcomed and warm. All the family drama is left in the glove compartment for the day. Horse exercise

Now that I have a tribe of my own, I go there less often and try to establish my own family traditions. Although I want them to feel the generational love, I want to impress memories with them as well. The first dinner I did was before my 11 yr old past in 2004*. My now 23yr old son did the sweet potatoes and Mya did the cabbage. We had a simple yet delicious spread.  But ended up throwing away a large amount of meat and beans. I didn’t like that too much and knew that we had to try something different.

101

So now, we take a little out for the local shelters before we eat.  Problem solved.

In 1621, the Plymouth colonists and Wampanoag Indians shared an autumn harvest feast that is acknowledged today as one of the first Thanksgiving celebrations in the colonies. For more than two centuries, days of thanksgiving were celebrated by individual colonies and states.

give thanks

At any given moment, I have 14 arms to hug and love me unconditionally. At any given moment,I can bend over and pick something off the floor. At any given moment, I can walk outside my door and work in my garden. At any given moment, I can go to my sink and collect clean* water. At Any Given Moment, I can give THANKS to God for my life!

Here is how we do Thanksgiving.

  1. We recall what we are thankful for )loved ones, life, health, family and a peace of mind and everything in between)
  2. We will not gorge on this day. For we know that we must eat  well after that one day.
  3. We will find a way to bring joy in someone else life, via food, deed or both.
  4. We will build on what we have and find ways to care for and our current gifts.

More on Thanksgiving (Please check out the links and book offer. Each purchase from the books justify time given to this blog- THANKS IN ADVANCE. 🙂 )

The real cost of Thanksgiving

Oven Cautions!

The Latin Kitchen- How to cook in 3 hours!

Detox your self after the fest/ eat clean during it . Follow my pinterest board.

Recipes the kids can help make!

Buy the book! Teens Gobble Gobble MAD LIBs

Charlie Brown ThanksGiving

Thanksgiving Is For Giving

Children’s Books: WHAT’S FOR THANKSGIVING DINNER? (Delightfully Fun, Rhyming Bedtime Story/Picture Book for Beginner Readers About Making Friends and Being … Ages 2-8) (Happy Children’s Series 5)

and Little Critter: Just a Special Thanksgiving “This is a very cute book with really nice illustrations and such a good story. ”

Conversation-worth-Having-Image How do you celebrate Thanksgiving? I would LOVE to know.

Gobble Till You Wobble,

Kelle, QC Supermom

Leave a Reply

