Friday Four: Happy Father’s Day, Really!

Grown Mama talk…… All Kids Need a Caring, Loving, Mature, and Providing Dad.Notice I said nothing about fashion, a genius, cute or rich? Because those qualities really don’t matter to a child.

I had a pretty good dad. We had a roof over our head, food on our table and clothes on our back. Every once in a while we got extra’s. Without a doubt we enjoyed having him and my om together. To this day, I still can’t recall them ever arguing. He never forgot any birthday, his anniversary or any opportunity to enjoy a good fishing rip with his friends on Saturday mornings.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My memories growing up with my dad is like a hurricane. I was the wild one. The super  crazy,’Black Sheep” of the family.The 1st one to break the rules would be me. I was a teen mom that helped my sister push the car out the yard to party, and ate candy in the store before reaching the cashier.I was wild and careless. But he never called me anything other than my birth name.

He didn’t make it to many of my chorus events or games,but when I got home, the moon-pies were in the table and his stink work boots were waiting to be pulled off. There were no father daughter dances, pictures or lunches, but we barely missed any family reunions.

Once I left home  and became a mom, I met Raj. Raj was the total opposite.

I guess what I’m saying is there is no magical fatherhood path.

Cassie’s Sweetz has awesome Fathers Day gifts for the Low, Low…… See here! 

 

I asked For This Husband
by Jabela

I asked God for a man to treat me like a queen, that I might feel beautiful.
I was remained cuddly after birthing and nursed his babies, that I might learn love myself.

I asked for a man that would always put our family first, that I may never have to beg for groceries..
I was given a desk top computer and garden sneakers, that I might grow food in the yard and work from home after the children are asleep..

I asked for a man that also wanted a big  house, that I might entertain family and friends.
I was given a  decent sized- happy home with an incredible yard, and lawn chairs that I might enjoy nature, fresh air and the opportunity to watch the kids as they play outside.

I asked for a man to worship God with me every Sunday, that I may follow the traditional ways of my people.
I was given a tank of gas and a bunch of adios, that lead me to discovering the many faces of God outside of the church.

I asked for all things, that I might enjoy life.
I was given Life, that I might enjoy all things.

I got nothing that I asked for, but everything I had desired.
Almost despite myself, my unspoken prayers and true needs were fulfilled.

I am, among all moms, most richly blessed.menu

Need Ideas  for your guy? Try all or a few of these odd but cute ideas for dad

  1. Scavenger Hunt – Create a scavenger hunt and give dad clues to help him find his special Father’s Day gift. This can be an indoor activity or a scavenger hunt bike ride around the neighborhood. Arrange to have dad find his last clue at a picnic lunch or a nearby restaurant.
  2. Dad Olympics – For the dad who likes all kinds of competition, set up a Dad Olympics. Dad and the kids can compete in fun games such as Frisbee throwing or three-legged races. Younger children can decorate the game props with Father’s Day wishes and pictures
  3. Make a Dad Book!  It’s a book all about dad and how incredible he is.The feature picture is a rough draft of what our final product will be. We’re using his actual photos in action doing different thing with the family and adding script. The binding will be done with a hot glue gun and hole puncher.
  4. If any good games are on this weekend that you already know he wants to watch, turn it into a big deal! Create a tasty spread of his favorite dishes and cold  drinks to enjoy. Now everyone can sit a enjoy it with him. Just promise not to talk too much during the game.

Here’s another list of absolutely amazing gifts too! lick here—->  X <——

That’s my dad and grand dad below on my wedding day! https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10155745040140252&set=t.839145251&type=3&theater

Leave a Reply

