Wednesday Wow: Paying Your Doula

 

Would you love to hire a Doula but you honestly can’t afford one? Fear not! Your Health Insurance may cover it!

Whether your pregnancy was meticulously planned, medically coaxed, or happened by surprise, one thing is certain – your life will never be the same.
– Catherine Jones

So you’re having a baby huh? Congrats! Things are about to be change in a beautiful way! 

Young African American Woman Pregnant isolated on a black backgr

Grab a bowl of oatmeal and relax. I did it 9 times, you’ll be okay.

 

I love being a Charlotte doula. I not only help couples before conception, but I also get to help them  during and after delivery. (Check out my Facebook page)

I love attending births.  I love how it makes me feel.  I love how it makes the mom feel.  I love making a difference in other peoples’ lives.

Charlotte has a great selection of professional doulas, and I am proud to be among some of the best in the business. IF I COULD DO IT FOR FREE I WOULD. But I can’t. Aside from the cost of education, books, workshops, continued education, and advertising (website, cards, brochures), we also take into consideration the time that it takes for all of these as well as out of pocket expenses.

In the grand scheme of things, you’re paying for an invaluable service during your pregnancy, labor, and birth. The difference a doula can make during this time is often priceless. The least that can be done is pay her asking fee.  If you need help with that, look no further than your maternity Insurance. (See My Webpage)

www.http://thepinkgrasshopperbirth.webs.com/

As a doula, one of the first questions I’m asked is, will my HMA pay for your services?  Here’s the short answer:

Expenses paid for a doula who’s primary purpose is for delivery of the infant are reimbursable. Charges where the primary purpose is child care after delivery are not covered. An explanation of the primary purpose should accompany the claim.

The following is a partial list of insurance companies have reimbursed in whole or in part for doula services:
Aetna Healthcare

AltPro
Baylor Health Care System/WEB TPA
Blue Cross/Blue Shield
Blue Cross/ Blue Shield PPO
Cigna
Degussa, a German Chemical Company
Elmcare, LLC, C/O North American Medical Management
Foundation for Medical Care
Fortis Insurance
Glencare Managed Health Inc.
Great-West Life & Annuity Ins. Co.
HNTB (Peoria, IL)
Houston New England Financial, Employee Benefits (Fort Scott, KS)
Humana Employers Health
Lutheran General Physician’s Organization
Maritime Life
Medical Mutual
Oschner HMO, Louisiana
Professional Benefits Administrators
Prudential Healthcare
Qualchoice
Summit Management Services, Inc
Travelers
United HealthCare of Georgia (San Antonio, TX)
United Health POS
Wausau Benefits, Inc

 

Note: I would ask the doula for her NPI (National Provider Number It may or may not be an issue. Find out before hiring her. or it may be coming completely out of your pockets.

~~~~ON NEXT Monday, I’ll tell you the procedure to filing your doula fees~~~~

HSA qualifications vary; including Medicad. For some insurance companies may want you to identify as an out of network licensed healthcare provider and may make it easier to get reimbursement to your clients.  Depends on the insurance company and the state insurance laws.

I tell my clients to get their OBGYN to write them a prescription for me (a doula) One day Blue Cross Blue Shield called me directly just to ask if I was a doula in their network  and I was so proud to say, “Not yet but I am a certified doula .”  (Via my  numerous clients birth records and doula registration receipts) But they didn’t ask for them . So far, getting paid has never been an issue for me. My clients are instructed to submit receipts through their health insurance coverage, not a flex spending.

Feel free to check out my Pintrest board on ‘Pregnancy’. It’s the rated board for doulas! I’m sure you’ll find great information there.

If this hasn’t helped, just go to your HSA . They should have a third party administrator who can answer this for you.

Here are some beautiful quotes on pregnancy. Click here!

One thought on “Wednesday Wow: Paying Your Doula

  1. “Hi its REBECCA, I am the mom to 3 incredible young men that are teens and nearly adults. My first son was a traumatic birth by unnecessary cesarean at 38 weeks following a failed induction. My next two sons were successful hospital VBACs.

    With over 13 years experience and 450+ births and counting, Rebecca Gay, Doula, CLC, is an experienced, highly trained, birth-worker. Rebecca serves Birth Doula Services Atlanta Georgia – Doula Services Athens Georgia to families in hospitals and home births, from Atlanta to Athens and everywhere in between.

    I trained with DONA to become a birth doula in 2003. As we approach 2016, I’ve had the honor of participating in nearly 500 births at hospitals, homes, and birth centers. I am also certified lactation counselor. As your Doula this service is included at no additional cost to you. I offer a one day, boot camp style, Childbirth Education Class. The class includes everything from the anatomy of labor to postpartum and breastfeeding basics. I also offer Placenta Encapsulation with no deposit required. A Cord Keepsakes is included with all placenta pills.

    Ten years after beginning my journey in birth work, I fulfilled a lifelong dream, and went to “The Farm” in Tennessee. There I trained with the nation’s most respected midwives. I received my certification in neonatal resuscitation and also became a certified midwife’s assistant. Over the last few years; I’ve had the opportunity to serve local midwives and families all over Atlanta and Athens as a Midwife Assistant.

    We use the RAW​ METHOD of preparation which skips the heating and herbal process altogether. Raw food activists believe that steaming the placenta destroys some of the essential nutrients. Using the PLACENTA ENCAPSULATION RAW METHOD provides a burst of energy upfront and great hormone stabilization. This method will provide mom with the most amount of pills possible and they will be very potent which mom would be able to take fewer pills each day.”

Leave a Reply

