Wednesday Wow: Black Breastfeeding Week- YES!

NOTICE: To be clear, this is not about YOU — this effort does not exclude or preclude anyone else from joining in. Please hear me, every time black people get together in solidarity to address problems in their own community, it is not a statement or action toward YOU. In fact, your energy would be better spent thinking about how you can support such a life-saving effort. PLEASE CONTINUE…..

Safe Libraries  encourage me to call them out for the suckers they are on NIP.

August is Breastfeeding Awareness Month and a group of nationally recognized breastfeeding advocates have declared August 25-31st as Black Breastfeeding Week, marking the inaugural celebration of black life with community events in key cities, an live interactive webcast and several social media campaigns.

bf hiding

 I agree that a special light should be given to mothers of color. Study’s suggest that although more moms of color are nursing, we still have a long way to go.75% of white women breastfed versus 58.9% of black women. ,

bbf

 As I write, I am nursing my lil one and thinking to myself, how fortunate I was to have been pulled over 16 years ago in dialogue by my then baby father. When we found out that we were expecting, although NEITHER of us was too excited, he went into Super dad mode.  He said “you’re gonna breastfeed. No child of mine is drinking that {explicit}.” So I fed her.

I was surprised that he was that interested in what our soon to be baby would be fed.  We never talked about it. I know that my mother didn’t nurse us and not sure if his mom nursed him, but it was something he knew was great for our

When she was born it took a lot of trial and error. She bit me many times. I remember crying when it seemed like she wasn’t getting enough to eat.  My mom and other women, both young and old thought I was crazy for not accepting WIC’s offer for formula. To her nursing wasn’t worth the trouble because that darn formula was just sitting, waiting on me, in a can to pop open, drop in a bottle and shove in my lil ones mouth. But I kept right on feeding her.

After that daughter, we had 5 more babies. All of whom were breastfed for . I continues to get the looks, comments from strangers, family and friends, but I knew that it was working. The kids only went to the hospital for checkups and after a few accidents. My daughters have skipped an entire grade level, and my now 6yo reads on a 2nd grade level. So YES! I am an advocate for Black BreastFeeding. poster bf

When black mothers are given more support, guidance, and solid education I guarantee you- nothing more than a physical obstruction will stop a mom from sharing her gift that only a mother can share. So feed on!

 Leaky Boob said:For those of you who are offended by Black Breastfeeding Week, I have great news: it’s not for or about you. If you are offended by a group of people supporting each other and providing a safe space for dialogue about problems relevant to themselves, don’t worry, it has nothing to do with you. If you are unwilling to listen and provide support and solidarity, then don’t involve yourself in the discussion…..

 

 

bf latched

Because too many moms of color think this way, here’s why Black Breastfeeding Week is needed :

My mother and grandmothers don’t support it.

It doesn’t seem to be something folks like me do.  I just don’t see enough of  “us” out there.

My man thinks my boobs are only his. I can’t imagine sharing them.

No one else will be able to feed the baby but me, what if I need to leave the baby?

Most people I know use formula, and they are just fine.

I am not going in a bathroom to feed my child!

(Heard of any others?)

Let us have our week please! Like it or not, Black Breastfeeding Week is here! It’s the first one and we’re proud to be part of launching it. Like the page to get updates about this week’s events and SHARE with your peeps to help spread the word.

Nipples up for all breastfeeding moms! QCSupermom

Teach Me How To Breast Feed [MUSIC VIDEO]

Join the conversation. Leave a comment here.

Sh!$ people say to breast feeding moms! (too funny)

Babies LOVE our milk. No formula can compare.

Babies LOVE our milk. No formula can compare.

Leave a Reply

