Friday Four: DNC debate was catty

It’s not that I’ve forgotten to write, it’s more because there so much going on, I can’t choose what to share first. But from this past week, I’ve pulled my top four events.

But before I do, I must say this quick plug for my president: Mitt……not now, not ever-No chance, with your rude self! Okay, now as I was saying……

My top four:

1. I just succeeded getting my son in love with reading! I have him on a daily reading curriculum & he is thriving in it!  My goal is to have him skip a grade once I get him in a private school. He’s already 5 and quite tall. He’ll do just fine in the 1st grade.

2. We started our morning off at Home Depot. We’ve been going since our daughters were knee high to a grasshopper. I’m so happy they offer them for free.  The kids workshops are just amazing and so empowering!  All of my children look forward to building something with their very own hands every 1st month of the year. While we were there, we also painted & decorated small pumpkins for the children of Levine hospital. How do you like our Elmo one? One the other side it says  HEALED!  What A Morning! …Next up was our next trip was to Imagnion for a party!

Charlie Brown & Snoopy even came out to celebrate 7 years of Imaginon being around. It was the best 7yo party we’ve been to all year long- complete with face painting, music, magic, balloon art, movies, cupcakes and cookie!  It was worth the quick dash out of the library to re-park the mini van (we get 90min to park for free & I refuse to pay If I don’t have to! )

3. I’ve found the ticket to  constantly improve my daughters writing skills! I now have a perfect way to get my daughters to read and write more. It’s through Scholastic!

Here’s what it’s about Scholastic News Kids Press Corps
Members of the Scholastic News Kids Press Corps cover news stories for http://www.scholastic.com/kidspress and select Scholastic classroom magazines. Between 15-20 new press corps members are chosen each school year. The program is open to all students ages 10-14 with a burning desire to be a journalist. The selection of Kid Reporters is based on writing ability, interviewing skills, and attention to detail.

4. Did you know: 

FASCINATING FACTS AND FIGURES

TOUR AND SHOW

Hours it takes to set up the production Approximately 10 to 12
Hours it takes to tear down the production 3 to 5
Number of performances per year Approximately 280
Number of trucks needed to haul equipment 13 (including concessions)
Average size of ice skating surface (in front of stage) 120 feet x 65 feet
Number of computers utilized by management 5

PROPS

Stage set height 38 feet and 3 inches
Number of elevators in stage 1
Number of hydraulic self-contained vehicles 2
Number of inflatables in production 3
Inflation time 1/2 minute (average)
Number of clocks in headers 0
Number of Mister nozzles in headers around ice surface 120

COSTUMES

Number of yards of fabric used to make costumes 500
Number of costumes in the show 220
Number of costume pieces that make up the costumes More than 1,500
Average number of costumes per cast member 4
Number of washers and dryers that travel with the production 3 washers, 3 dryers

LIGHTING

Feet of lighting truss 240
Total number of lighting fixtures 565
Total number of available amps 1,200
Number of gobos (special lighting patterns) 38
Number of movable lights 78

SOUND

Number of hard drives 2
Number of speaker enclosures 47
Number of watts of power for the sound system 39,200
Number of watts of power, peak 75,000
Number of channels on the sound console 16
Number of sound effects on soundtrack 200 cues
Number of sound effects added live 76

I can’t wait for Disney On Ice Worlds of Fantasy  ……..coming to Time Warner Cable Arena from OCT. 10 -14

Leave a Reply

