Wednesday Wow: Beavers booty is in our food! The Food Babe Book Review

ashleyQCSAHM assist Organizer on Food Bade BookWe recently enjoyed a Varni Hari “Food Babe Party.” That’s Ashley, my assistant organizer for Queen City Stay At Home Moms. Our son’s came along for the party as well. After all, they are the reason for wanting to learn more about selecting and serving healthy food via The Food Babe, Varni Hari way.

Just in case you don’t know, Varni is been a busy young lady. She’s been able to do things like encouraging Kraft to stop using food dye in their American Mac and Cheese.  (Not that we even eat that)

Hari has done research on several foods, collected evidence that the chemicals could be dangerous and she’s put fire under companies like Chick-fil-A, Subway, Chipotle, and Starbucks to CHANGE!

That’s pretty impressive work for “just a regular person” wouldn’t you say?

Vari Hari  is brave. She’s been attacked in the news for not being a scientist. Again, she never said she was, but do you have to be a scientist to do extensive research, compile data, and present facts? Is that a job relegated only to scientists? I fear that the reason she is being attacked may be more for the message than it is for the messenger. Food companies are starting to notice Hari. If she runs a campaign against them, they would have to respond and either change their food or lose customers. They are smarter than that…… we hope!

What I Think of the Book

The Food Babe Way is very well written and thorough – complete with 9 pages of references in the back! Vani calls herself a consumer investigator and citizen journalist, and she communicates her findings with an impeccable level of detail. For that reason, I do think Part I is a lot to absorb for newbies,” but the overall message (to not trust Big Food) is not lost. They’re pretty much in it for the bottom line after all, and I love how Vani reinforces what I already know to be true – you must be the one to take charge of your own health. And she gives you the resources to do just that.

For example, in this picture, we slipped chia seeds in the boys yogurt. They didn’t even care!QCSAHM boys day with FoodBabe

I love how Vani’s new book not only tells you what food additives and products to avoid, but also leaves you with a solid plan of what you can eat (recipes included). The Food Babe Way is broken down into these sections:

Note: I was sent an advance copy of the Food Babe Way to review. I am not being compensated for my review, my opinions are my own.

DSCF9016

Leave a comment