Wednesday Wow!: What Not To Donate To Charities

shirtI am a thrift store shopper. I am also a thrift store donator. Sometimes, I return an item to a thrift store with their own tags still on it because I never wore it. It’s my way of justifying purchasing at a thrift store when I could buy my clothing and items new, and also a great way to get rid of good items we no longer need around my house. We have 6 children in the house. To keep everyone clothed, fed and have gas money to ride, we shop thrift stores. After all, their bodies are growing and changing so fast, it would be a waste of money for us not to take advantage of the savings. Well one day, I discovered the Free Store,a clothing and small appliance shop. I was very surprised to see such a interesting collection of FREE goods there. I was able to create a costume with a few of the things there as well as grab up a few rods for our windows. When I learned about the volunteer opportunities  I jumped on it. After all, if they thought enough about “me” to ensure I had decent pickens, why not return the favor-right?

“It’s not how much we give but how much love we put into giving.” ― Mother Teresa

I grabbed up a mom from my Stay At Home Mom Tribe ……..
qcaOn last Tuesday,during our Service Day at Crisis Assistance Ministry Free Store. We were given 5 simple rules 1. If it has huge stains, rips,worn out patches- Toss it. Same thing goes for company printed attire. 2. No kids under 5 years old are allowed in the area. 3. The water and bathroom stations are behind you, and 4. “Grab this and hang it here!” and 5. Thank you for coming in spite of the bad rain. Simple enough. I think we did a great job helping that day. So to answer the question, what not to donate-

dress

 

Recycle your stuff if…

  • They’re full of holes, torn or are just too trashed to wear.
  • The sneakers soles are worn out or the tread is gone.
  • If the stain is visible, pit-stained. Jeans without zippers, blouses missing buttons.

Donate your stuff if…

  • Your clothes still have plenty of life in them.
  • They just don’t fit or feel right.
  • They’re still in good shape, but are out of style.

Bottom line,if you’re too embarrassed to wear them due to their condition,trash them.

Acceptable donations for Crisis Assistance

jacket

Ministry Free Store include furniture, clothing, and household items. Your donations should be tax-deductible and you will receive a tax-deduction receipt for your donations.

“There is no exercise better for the heart than reaching down and lifting people up.” 
― John Holmes

Till my next return, QC Supermom

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Wow!: What Not To Donate To Charities

  1. Great post Kelle!! We found some awesome clothes there. It was really rewarding to see how generous people can be, especially with their brand-new-still-got-the-tags-on-designer-clothing! I love all the volunteer opportunities this group provides.

Leave a Reply

